LGBTQ Legacy Leader Awards 2021

Over the years, LGBTQ Iowans have had a strong and welcome influence on our state. Representing a wide range of vocations and avocations, they have led with creativity, vigor and compassion, solving problems and helping build a state that we all can be proud to call home.

In tribute to such inspiring contributions, dsm magazine is working with One Iowa to present the second annual LGBTQ Legacy Leader Awards. We also will recognize an ally of the LGBTQ community, someone whose contributions to equality and justice have helped ensure that gender and sexual orientation must not be stigmatized or marginalized in the culture of Iowa.

We’d like to introduce you to this year’s honorees, below.
They will be recognized for lifetime achievement at a special event in October. Details to come.

Tim Hickman, Des Moines, principal at Substance Architecture.

Eugenia Kutsch-Stanton, Des Moines, research scientist at Corteva Agriscience.

Randy Mayer, Ames, chief of the Bureau of HIV, STD and Hepatitis at the Iowa Department of Public Health.

John Schmacker, Des Moines, retired certified public accountant and nonprofit executive.

Elle Wyant, Iowa City/Cedar Rapids, account executive at United Parcel Service.

Dr. Kyle Christiason (ally), Cedar Falls, physician at UnityPoint Health.

Past honorees pictured from left to right: Eileen Gebbie, Alexandra Gray, John Harper, Jan Jensen, Tracy Lewis, John Forsyth

Past honorees included: George Belitsos, Karen Mackey, Sharon Malheiro, Sonia Reyes-Snyder, Jeorgia Robison, Jonathan Wilson, Tracy Lewis, Alexandra Gray, Jan Jensen, Eileen Gebbie, John Harper, and allies Terri Hale and John Forsyth