Sages Over 70 – 2024

At dsm magazine, we understand that Greater Des Moines benefits from the community spirit and contributions of local leaders who challenge all of us to improve the place we all call home. That’s why we think it’s important to recognize this leadership through our annual Sages Over 70 awards, which honor local leaders and their decades of civic and business leadership, mentorship, advocacy and overall community involvement.

If you know someone who fits that description, we encourage you to nominate him or her for one of this year’s awards, which dsm will present during a ceremony Nov. 7 at the FFA Enrichment Center on the Des Moines Area Community College campus in Ankeny. Deadline to submit is June 28. 

Nominate Here

Sages Honored in Previous Years

James A. Autry, Chuck Betts, Margo and Don Blumenthal, Richard “Red” Brannen, J.C. “Buz” Brenton, Joe Brick, Donald Brush, Robert Burnett, Mary Campos, Linda Carter-Lewis, Joyce Chapman, Monroe Colston, Judith Conlin, Roxanne Conlin, Joy Corning, Patty and Jim Cownie, Paul Danforth, Johnny Danos, Rob Denson, Phil Dorweiler, RuthAnn Gaines, Elaine Graham Estes, Simon Estes, Allison Fleming, Penny Furgerson, Michael Gartner, Nolden Gentry, E.J. Giovannetti, Willie Stevenson Glanton, Barbara Graham, Edgar Hansell, Tom and Ruth Harkin, Harlan “Bud” Hockenberg, H. Lynn Horak, James Hubbell III, David Hurd, Trudy Holman Hurd, Dwight Jackson, Vernon Johnson, William Kimball, Gary Kirke, William Knapp, Mary Kramer, Elizabeth Kruidenier, Don and Charlene Lamberti, Robert Larsen, William Lillis, Elvin McDonald, Polly Moore, R.W. and Mary Nelson, Kenneth Quinn, John Pappajohn, Ila Plasencia, Robert Pulver, Suku Radia, Robert Ray, Stan and Jody Reynolds, Bob Riley, Stephen W. Roberts, John Ruan III, Mary Seidler, Bob Shaw, Patsy Shors, Loretta Sieman, Neal Smith, Tom Urban, Jack Wahlig, Fred Weitz, Catherine G. Williams, Pam Williams, Alan Zuckert